ADVOCATE FOR
MASSAGE THERAPY
AS A RECOGNIZED &
RESPECTED HEALTHCARE PROFESSION


Log in

News: CPP

For all WSMTA news: click here.
For the CPP page: click here.


  • 23 Apr 2021 5:02 PM | Amy Thomason (Administrator)


    By Elizabeth Jane Brooks

    Substitute Senate Bill 5169 -- PPE Reimbursement

    SSB5169 enables all healthcare providers to seek reimbursement for personal protective equipment during the state of emergency related to COVID-19. This bill adds a new section to chapter 48.43 RCW and provides a contingent expiration date and declares an emergency.

    The Washington State’s legislature finds that since the delivery of healthcare services is essential and maintaining patient safety during this pandemic is paramount, healthcare providers are incurring substantially increased costs in following state and federal regulations to minimize the risk of viral transmission. These costs are associated with obtaining personal protective equipment. Since these substantial costs have not been factored into our contracts with health carriers, the State Legislature found this bill necessary to alleviate the burden on healthcare providers. 

    Many healthcare providers do not have a way to recoup the costs of personal protective equipment since many contracts with health carriers prevent the billing of supplies to patients and their health insurance providers. Therefore, the legislature finds that to help ensure patient safety and continued access to personal protective equipment, it is necessary that health carriers reimburse healthcare providers for costs associated with personal protective equipment.

    A new section is added to chapter 48.43 RCW to read as follows: 

    For the duration of the federal public health emergency related to COVID-19, a health benefit plan shall reimburse a health care provider who bills for incurred personal protective equipment expenses as a separate expense, using the American Medical Association's current procedural terminology code 99072 or as subsequently amended, $6.57 for each individual patient encounter. For purposes of this section, cost sharing is limited to the covered service according to the terms and conditions of the health benefit plan and does not apply to an expense for personal protective equipment. This section is not intended to apply to health care services that are not provided in person.

    This act took effect on April 16, 2021 and will be in effect for the duration of the federal state of emergency related to COVID-19 and will expire when this state of emergency is over.

    So, What Does This Mean?

    Healthcare providers treating patients in state-regulated commercial health plans who have incurred costs for PPE will be able to bill the newly created CPT code 99072 and be reimbursed $6.57 per patient encounter as recommended by one of the American Medical Association's committee.

    The law operates prospectively, meaning that carriers are not required to reimburse this code for dates of service prior to the law’s effective date; but moving forward and continuing for the duration of the federally declared state of emergency relating specifically to COVID-19, they must reimburse for it.

    Given that it can be difficult to know whether a health plan is subject to state regulation, or is exempt from state laws, the Washington State Medical Association recommends billing the code liberally in appropriate circumstances as those health plans which are not subject to the law may opt to reimburse the code. 

    In contrast, the Washington State Chiropractic Association (WSCA) recommends just billing state regulated plans (which do not include self-insured plans or those subject to ERISA) as this is a state law and ONLY applies to state regulated plans. They have produced a very helpful video Q&A that can be found here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LTAwY3Pa4N0

    You can read, (and you should read), the bill in its entirety here: http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2021-22/Pdf/Bills/Session%20Laws/Senate/5169-S.SL.pdf?q=20210423145331



  • 17 Apr 2021 9:52 AM | Amy Thomason (Administrator)


    By Dagmar Growe, LMT

    I have recently come across a number of questions regarding billing codes. In my early days of insurance billing, I remember being  told by more experienced therapists about a few numbers to be entered into certain fields of the HCFA form, with no understanding on my part, and possibly theirs, about the meaning of any of them. Some things have gotten easier with electronic billing as pull-down menus offer explanations, for example for “Place of Service” (POS). However, there are 2 codes that are essential to understand:

    • ICD-10 (International Classification of Diseases, Edition 10): This is a numeric expression of a diagnosis -  what we treat. Since it is outside of the scope of practice of massage therapists to diagnose, we will need to have this code supplied to us by a healthcare professional who is licensed to diagnose. Even if insurance policies do not require a referral, we still need an ICD-10 code to fill out the HCFA form and get paid. It is also important to note that some insurances will not pay for certain codes, for example fibromyalgia, myalgia, or certain headache codes. If you get a referral with one of those codes you’ll need to call the doctor’s office and request a different code to be assigned.

    • CPT (Current Procedural Terminology): This is an expression of the “procedure” we are performing--how we treat-- and it determines the amount of reimbursement. In theory, LMTs should be able to bill for any CPT code that covers techniques or procedures which are part of our scope of practice. However, many insurances will only pay for 97124, which stands for “massage, including effleurage, petrissage, and/or tapotement”. Other possible codes include 97140 (manual therapy) and 97112 (neuromuscular reeducation). However, if using these codes, it is of utmost importance to understand what these codes describe, and to document your treatment accordingly. Also, be sure that you can show you have been trained to perform these techniques. If you get audited and your documentation is deemed insufficient you may be required to return insurance payments. More information on codes can be found here.


  • 28 Mar 2021 11:30 AM | Amy Thomason (Administrator)


    By Dagmar Growe, LMT

    (Updated CE requirements Link)

    While hands-on continuing education (CE) requirements are suspended for now, LMTs need to continue to report 24 hrs. of CE every 2 years with their license renewal. With the loss of income due to the COVID19 pandemic, many LMTs are struggling to come up with funds to pay for continuing education. Here are some low cost and free options

    1. Professional Associations: ABMP and AMTA offer free and lower cost CEs for members.

    2. Service on massage related boards or committees: Volunteer with WSMTA and receive CEs for your service.

    3. Self-study: Up to 2 hrs. per reporting period. A 2 page synopsis of the studied material is required.

    4. Teaching: Consider offering a class – the first time you teach it it will count toward your own CE.

    5. Local networks such as North Cascades Massage Connection or South Sound LMPs offer low cost CE. If there is no network in your area consider starting one. We will be happy to support you.

    6. Subscription Services:  These often offer a large amount of online CE for a low flat rate.  This is a buyer beware category, so do your research.

    7. As a member of WSMTA you may earn up to 3 free continuing education credits by attending WSMTA’s Annual meeting.   

    Find the regulations regarding CE here, and the Board of Massage’s proclamation temporarily suspending hands-on CE can be found here: CE requirements. Plan ahead - don’t wait until the month before your CE is due: Spread your CE over the 2 year period, and take advantage of affordable and interesting opportunities.  



  • 17 Mar 2021 8:16 AM | Amy Thomason (Administrator)

    By Dagmar Growe, LMT

    While hands-on continuing education (CE) requirements are suspended for now, LMTs need to continue to report 24 hrs. of CE every 2 years with their license renewal. With the loss of income due to the COVID19 pandemic, many LMTs are struggling to come up with funds to pay for continuing education. Here are some low cost and free options

    1. Professional Associations: ABMP and AMTA offer free and lower cost CEs for members.

    2. Service on massage related boards or committees: Volunteer with WSMTA and receive CEs for your service.

    3. Self-study: Up to 2 hrs. per reporting period. A 2 page synopsis of the studied material is required.

    4. Teaching: Consider offering a class – the first time you teach it it will count toward your own CE.

    5. Local networks such as North Cascades Massage Connection or South Sound LMPs offer low cost CE. If there is no network in your area consider starting one. We will be happy to support you.

    6. Subscription Services:  These often offer a large amount of online CE for a low flat rate.  This is a buyer beware category, so do your research.

    7. As a member of WSMTA you may earn up to 3 free continuing education credits by attending WSMTA’s Annual meeting.   

    Find the regulations regarding CE here, and the Board of Massage’s proclamation temporarily suspending hands-on CE can be found here: CE requirements. Plan ahead - don’t wait until the month before your CE is due: Spread your CE over the 2 year period, and take advantage of affordable and interesting opportunities.  



  • 15 Nov 2020 12:54 PM | Carl Wilson (Administrator)

    Federally Regulated Health Plans and Massage Therapy

    by Dagmar Growe, LMT

    There is a lot of confusion surrounding federally regulated health plans. The Every-Category-of-Provider statute requires that insurers must not exclude any category of providers licensed by the state of Washington who provide health care services or care within the scope of their practice for services covered as essential health benefits (WAC 284-170-270). Since this is a state statute it does not apply to anything which is regulated by federal law. This means that massage therapy benefits can either be excluded by any of those plans, or be limited by any number of arbitrary rules the plan chooses. Because the customer service representatives are generally not very forthcoming with information, it is easy to end up with unpaid claims.

    This article aims to shed some light on the different types of federally regulated plans and what to be aware of.

    1. Federal Employee Health Plans (i.e. US Postal Workers Health Plan): These never cover massage therapy. However, I have been told otherwise by a customer representative, just to be told later “only if performed by a PT”.

    2. Self-Insured Plans: Large employers or associations like trade unions may opt to create a trust fund for health care expenses, rather than to buy coverage from an insurance company. However, they may then hire an insurance company to administer the trust fund. The best known example of this is Uniform Medical, which is a self-insured plan for WA State employees that is administered by Regence Blue Cross. These plans are regulated by ERISA (Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, a federal law that sets minimum standards for most voluntarily established retirement and health plans in private industry to provide protection for individuals in these plans). These plans may opt to provide massage therapy benefits, likely because of customer demand, but then apply additional rules which are generally not volunteered by customer service representatives. Here are some examples: “Yes, we cover massage therapy, but only if performed by a PT; but only if billed through a chiropractor, PT or MD office; but only if part of a PT treatment plan and the PT has to bill first”. Additionally, these plans may offer ridiculously low reimbursement rates, and in one case I saw only cover “up to 2 units”. 

    3. Federal Health care plans like Medicare, VA healthcare, and Tricare: These plans never cover massage therapy. However, many Medicare insured people have supplemental plans that will cover massage. It is standard practice for supplemental plans to require a medicare denial before covering remaining expenses. The large insurance companies generally know that massage therapy is never covered, and that massage therapists are unable to obtain a denial, and do not ask for this. Some insurances (or some of their staff) do not understand this, and insist on the denial. In this case filing a complaint with the Office of the Insurance Commissioner will be helpful.

    Delegating the research regarding plans to patients will not work, as it is important to ask the right questions. It may be helpful to ask if patients have had massage covered by insurance before, but it will not be a guarantee that a claim will be paid.


  • 22 Sep 2020 7:29 PM | Carl Wilson (Administrator)

    Interim Guidance on Personal Protection Equipment Rev 9/18/20

    This document is an interim guide for massage therapists in making selections on Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) to use while in the treatment room or office. WSMTA makes minimum PPE recommendations for massage therapists and their clients, highlights the options available and how to choose the best option for your practice and your clients/patients.

    What’s New: Updated information on facemasks and respirators as well as new information on how to obtain PPE from the WA State PPE Stockpile.

    Click Here or on the title above to open the document link.

    Interim Guidance on Sanitation Rev 9/17/20

    The Sanitation document builds on the Interim Guidance on Personal Protective Equipment by providing more information on cleaning and disinfecting PPE, extending the life of it and storing it. This document also provides information on cleaning and disinfecting (the how, why and strategies for reducing the amount of time doing it) as well as many other important things related to the setup of a massage room or clinic while COVID-19 is an issue.

    What’s New: Updated section on air quality in the treatment room and new information about aerosol, droplets, infectious dosage and viral load.

    Click Here or on the title above to open the document link.

    Interim Guidance on Practice Guidelines Rev 9/19/20

    The Practice Guidelines document provides information on how to check for symptoms and signs of health in yourself and your patient/client. It takes all of the prior information the PPE and Sanitation guidance documents provided helps the massage therapist to put it into an infection prevention and control plan as well as provides strategies for before the massage session, during the massage session and after the massage session.

    What’s New:  The section on “Blood Clotting and Best Practice Considerations” has been significantly updated to “Effects of COVID-19 on the Body and Best Practice Considerations” as well as other smaller updates throughout the document.

    Click Here or on the title above to open the document link.
  • 23 Jan 2020 7:25 PM | Carl Wilson (Administrator)

    Breaking: Regence Providers

    It has come to our attention that some Regence providers have received a contract amendment titled, "Regence BlueShield Data Access, Use & Transfer Addendum", sometime in December or early January. We advise you to take note of this amendment and read it carefully. WSMTA is working on clarifying some of the provisions with Regence, but we encourage you to do your own research.

    WSMTA is committed to continuing this vital function and representation for Washington LMT’s.

    We need your continued support with your membership and/or donations to support our operations at www.mywsmta.org.

    Thank you!


Site Links:
Site Map
Privacy Policy
Disclaimer
Login

Connect With Us:
Facebook
Twitter

Advocate for Massage Therapy as a Recognized & Respected Healthcare Profession

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software